My Travels to Italy

Rome-Beauty

“If travel is like love, it is, in the end, mostly because it’s a heightened state of awareness, in which we are mindful, receptive, in dimmed by familiarity and ready to be transformed. That is why the best trips, like the best love affairs, never really end.” ~ Pico Iyer

I fly to Rome, Italy at the end of the month. It is my first trip to Italy and my first trip alone. I am feeling excited and nervous. I am thrilled to take a vacation finally. It has been over fifteen years since my last trip aboard.

My trip to Italy was fabulous. The memories, nostalgia, and excitement have stayed with me since last October. It’s coming up on a year, and I am hoping to travel again before the end of 2016. During my stay, I went to many of the tourist scenes including the Coliseum, the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, and many other unexpected ventures along my long walks in the streets of Rome.

Florence was my second stop. I took the train from Rome to Florence and enjoyed the beautiful hills and valleys along the scenic ride. In Florence, I ate great food, drank fine wine, walked the cobblestone streets and gazed at the many artistic creations. I was inspired to begin painting again and dust off my creative talents.

The favorite part of my trip was a tourist bus route through various towns in Tuscany. I instantly fell in love with the green hills and slopes of lined grape vines. The towns are so peaceful, serene with exceptional beauty that I long for. Standing on the outskirts of town, I can see for miles the hilly terrain, beautiful cloud formations, and lush green of leafy deciduous trees and grassy landscapes. Colors of yellows, reds, pinks, and purples popped up in flowery blossoms trickled through the valleys of greens. Nature brings instant calmness and spirituality. I felt closer to God and my core being. I was quiet, content, and inspired by the landscape. I understand now why so many artists flourish in Florence.

My trip came to an end with a spectacular site of a rainbow just as I was about to leave for the train back to Rome before I departed the next day. There is no other natural site quite as spiritual as the sight of a rainbow. A rainbow symbolizes unification of heaven and earth, divinity, and connection. I interrupted the rainbow as a perfect ending to my solo Italian trip and a lasting spiritual connection and deeper understanding of my values for travel, art, and self-exploration.

When you see a rainbow, how do you interrupt the vibrant colors arched across the sky?

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “My Travels to Italy

Leave a Reply

